Weekend highlights: gym fun, indulgences (too many), + yoga

Hi everyone! I hope you are enjoying the long weekend. Matt is working a full day today, but I’m home with the girls. If the weather turns around we’ll head over to the pool in the afternoon. Doesn’t look promising with all the rain we’ve been having.

We had a busy weekend, but I managed to fit in a few indulgences and a bit of personal time. It was all around a good few days.

Okay, here’s a quick rundown of our highlights.

Award ceremony at The Little Gym. The regular season has ended (summer sessions will begin soon) and the class received little ribbons for all their hard work. Omg, the girls were so proud of themselves. They’ve been sleeping with their ribbons ever since.

image

Those smiles!

image

Friday evening massage at Hand and Stone Spa. Matt renewed my three month membership as my Mother’s Day gift (good man!) and I had a wonderful massage at the end of the day. Nothing puts me in weekend mode like a massage.

image

Saturday sweat sesh at  Orangetheory (yes, I consider getting my butt handed to me a highlight). It was endurance day which meant a lot of incline sprints and rowing. We ended the last 15 minutes of class with a partner workout. I was toast at the end.

12033143_1067979416574789_594934796622020478_n

Farmer’s Market with the girls. We headed to the FM after my class, but I was a bit disappointed with the limited selection. I may try and visit another location next time. We did find our peaches and they were magnificent. How great does peach ice cream sound?

image

Painting birdhouses. I picked up some wooden birdhouses at AC Moore (LOVE this store) for $1 each and the girls enjoyed painting them on the deck. Big tantrums afterwards when I told them we needed to leave them on the deck to dry (we’re definitely in THAT stage right now where everything is the end of the world) which leads me into my next highlight…

image

A manicure for mommy. Matt came home from work and I was like, “I gotta tap out!” So I left to get a manicure. I know it might sound silly, but getting my nails done always makes me feel good. It was just what I needed.

image

A little wine on Saturday and a whole lot of Bloodline (season 2!). We definitely binge-watched three episodes. Anyone else into the show?

image

Sunday morning hot yoga class. I’ve been favoring strength training over other things lately, but it felt so good to move and stretch. I felt a bit like the Tin Man though.

The end.


Last week’s workouts  (strength programs from bodybuilding.com)

Monday

LEGS!

  • narrow stance squat 4 x 15
  • narrow stance leg press 4 x 8
  • walking BB lunges 3 x 20
  • single-leg BB squat (foot on bench) 4 x 8
  • standing calf raise 3 x 20
  • leg extension 3 x 10

Tuesday

Arms + abs + cardio

  • push ups 4 x 15
  • seated tricep extension 4 x 8
  • cable single arm tricep ext 3 x 8
  • reverse grip tricep push down 3 x 8
  • skull crusher 3 x 8
  • close grip BB bench press 3 x 8
  • incline DB curl 4 x 8
  • alt. DB bicep curl 4 x 8
  • BB curl 21s 2 x 21
  • stability ball crunch 3 x 25
  • weighted v-ups 3 x 15
  • stability ball reverse crunch 3 x 15

cardio: 2 mile run

Wednesday

@home

  • DB press (on floor) 2 x 10 — warm up
  • reverse tricep DB press on stability ball 4 x 8
  • DB fly (on ball) 4 x 8
  • DB press (on ball) 4 x 8
  • dips 4 x 8
  • weighted crunch 3 x 25
  • leg raises 3 x 10
  • reverse crunch 3 x 15

Thursday

1 mile run, then:

shoulders  – 4 x 8 for each exercise 

  • Arnold DM press
  • seated bent-over rear delt raise
  • standing one-arm DB press
  • front DB raise
  • standing DB upright row
  • side lateral raise
  • reverse fly

And calf raises 3 x 15

10 minutes rowing (every 3 minutes do 25 jump squats)

Friday

@ home workout:

20 minutes (as many rounds as possible)

  • 10 v-ups
  • 15 pushups
  • 20 jump squats
  • 25 mountain climbers

I got 10 rounds.

Saturday

Orangetheory class

Sunday

Hot yoga 75 minutes

 

Guess what? I have my FIRST giveaway for you guys! Stay tuned this week because I’m going to share it soon!

How was your weekend?

What are your plans for today?

What shows are you watching?

 

2 thoughts on “Weekend highlights: gym fun, indulgences (too many), + yoga

Leave a Reply

