Friday faves 3 + birthday recap

Hey there, friends! I’m excited to be back with another Friday faves post for you. I have a few things to share, but first I want to take a moment to thank everyone for the kind birthday wishes. So far, 33 (or as the girls say, “free-free”) has been treating me well.

Birthday recap

My morning started out really peaceful. I drank coffee and wrote for an hour or so in a completely silent house. The girls didn’t wake up until 7:30 – that was my gift. Once they got up, I made them smoothies and prepped my carrot cake while eating a big bowl of protein overnight oats and fruit.

A Fit Mess

I took the girls to Old Navy to try to do some shopping, but it wasn’t happening. There were crazy deals going on, but it was difficult to look around – my kids were darting all over the place. We’re in that running-away-from-mom-is-fun stage.

image

Later on, I left the girls with Matt and got a great workout in at the Y and then spent some time at Market Street Coffee reading and writing. It wasn’t too exciting, but it was exactly what I needed.

image

In the evening, Matt made homemade pizza and wings for dinner. The pizza was pretty epic. It had caramelized onions and shiitake mushrooms, garlic, bell peppers, and goat cheese and pesto. Honestly, I could have eaten the entire tray. The recipe is from Julie Bauer’s Paleo Cookbook and this pizza alone is worth buying the whole book.

image

And the carrot cake! It was sooo easy to make and turned out really well. I think I’m going to have to make it for the girls’ party next week.

image

So overall it was a pretty great day!

Okay, let’s get into the Friday faves.

Friday faves – what I’m loving lately

Starbucks ground mocha flavored coffeeMatt picked this up last week and we have really been enjoying it. The secret is to mix half of the flavored coffee with a regular kind. It creates a delicious cup of coffee with a tiny hint of chocolate. Seriously, it’s SO good!

image

So Delicious cashew milk “ice cream.” I recently learned that So Delicious now has cashew non-dairy ice cream and I was excited to try this one. The dark chocolate truffle is dangerously good. It’s so rich you only need a small amount.

image

Nordstrom’s Half Yearly Sale. You’ll love or hate me for this one. Yes, the sale that empties our bank accounts has just a couple of more days left. I’ve been pretty good, but I found some super cute things on the cheap. I got this high neck dress for $20 and this swing dress for $22! You’re welcome.

Nordstrom.JPG

12 high intensity running workouts. Tina from Carrots ‘N’ Cake shared a compilation of her favorite running workouts in honor of Global Running Day. The best part? They are all pin-able! I want to try the Dirty Diana!

Capture.JPG

Coconut Oil Hair Mask from Majestic Pure. This deep conditioner is great for restoring damaged hair. It’s rich in vitamin E and fatty acids and will leave your hair soft and hydrated. It’s on Amazon Prime, too!

Capture

LIKEtoKNOW.it. Have you heard of this? Basically it’s a service that lets you shop your favorite Instagram styles within minutes. All you need to do is sign up for LIKEtoKNOW.it, like a photo on Instagram, and you’ll receive links to purchase the items right to your inbox. I know…dangerous. It’s actually pretty neat!

like to know it

Okay, I’ve got to run and start my day. Have a fabulous weekend all!

What are you loving lately?

 

 

Leave a Reply

